PokemonTower
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

PokemonTower

Hear is the pokemon Tower were you and your friends can battle one another.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

PINCH HARMONICS!!! (And how to do them)

Go down 
AuthorMessage
l0ve0fevil

PINCH HARMONICS!!! (And how to do them) Empty
PostSubject: PINCH HARMONICS!!! (And how to do them)   PINCH HARMONICS!!! (And how to do them) Icon_minitimeMon Apr 25, 2011 4:17 pm

Pinch harmonics are certainly one of the more difficult techniques of the electric guitar, but also one of the most rewarding. If you're going absolutely insane trying to learn these (as I once did), this article should shed some light and hopefully get you to the point where playing a pinch harmonic has become just a natural part of your playing style you can do in your sleep.

A semi-brief history (feel free to skip this): In my very early days of playing, being self-taught, I never understood how the rock guitarists (specifically Steve Vai and Zakk Wylde, for me) hit these incredibly clear, piercing, intense high notes in the middle of a solo (and occasionally in other places). At first I thought it was a simple quick switch to a higher octave, but then I soon realized, "Hey, I don't think my guitar goes that high!" A good friend and fellow guitarist then explained to me that this sound was known as a "pinch harmonic," a difficult technique to master that was widely used amongst the world of rock and metal solos. Of course, at the time, he had no idea how to do them either. But at least I knew what they were now! So after trying endlessly to get some halfway decent explaination on how to do them online and through books, I gave up and decided to learn the way I, and most of us, learn best - observation! I went out and bought Ozzy's Live at Budokan DVD concert and studied it. I would find close-up shots of Zakk doing then and do a A > B repeat over and over. The first thing I